Buying a second home in PR

My wife & I are considering buying a second home in Puerto Rico. We have lots of experience on the island (we have been going, for work & pleasure, for 10 years; I speak Spanish, etc.), but this would be a new thing for us. Can anyone on the board report their own experiences, complications, etc. that might be relevant to us, particularly compared to buying in the U.S.? We are consideration an apartment in San Juan, probably within a relatively touristy area to permit vacation rental when we are not there - such as in OSJ, Condado, or Ocean Park. All comments welcome.

I have no experience with OSJ, we live on the eastern side of the island. Our home is a second home and there are some hurdles. First of all, get a good lawyer. Plan on delays in dealing with ARPE, the local governmental agency for registering property. Get a title search with title insurance. PR land ownership can be a legal maze. Check out the water situation which in OSJ should be city water. However, this does not guarantee purity or a dependable supply. Make sure your roof is good and don't buy anything without good screens, the bugs are biblical. Check out the electrical box, 40 to 60 amp services are common here and you will end up loosing appliances, computers etc. A couple of good surge protectors are also a must. Since you speak spanish you will have an easier time, try to find a good handy man. Health care is going to be a problem. I use the VA and get pretty good care but the public hospitals and clinics are famous for poor care. Be prepared to fly back to the states for serious health issues. I would recommend a small to mid sized SUV. You need plenty of ground clearance here whether you are in the city or out in the boonies. As for personal experiences, we had neighbors challenge our ownership of our land, spent two or three years in court dealing with outright lies by town officials, had men armed with machetes try to scare and intimidate us and have had to d