Exciting times!

Hello everyone,
I am totally new to this forum. I am Mom to 4 and 2 yr olds, looks like we may be moving to Bahrain possibly in Dec to follow husbnds job.
I would really appreciate any help/advice with all aspects of moving abroad as I have never done it before, especially help with kids and schooling, and how and where you can meet people to make friends.
I would love to make some online friends who I can maybe stay in touch with when we move over so we are not so lonely.
Thanks in advance for any help.
xxx

Hello Lola, and welcome to Bahrain. Bahrain is a very nice place and you will find it home away from home. Being new to the country, I would suggest you go through bahrainadvisor.com , you can search for schools/shopping/etc in Bahrain, and if you have any specific question then by all means, I can surely help

thank you for your quick response I really appreciate your help. I will have a look through the website you suggest and will be back if i have more questions.
many thanks again.

Hi Luckylola, welcome to Expat.com :)
You already did the first step to look for friends by joining this website!
Check out previous discussions on the forum, I know other ladies are here who will be more than helpful I'm sure!
Good luck in your new adventure!
Cheers
Arlette

Thanks Arlette for your reply.
If anyone has any advice on schooling, what do I need to do to apply for places, and any recommendations for schools which follow british curriculum, all gratefuly rec'd.

I remember reading about St.Christophers some time ago.
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Christopher%27s_School,_Bahrain

Also, upon arrival..at least from my own personal experience from more than half a life's worth of living abroad, your native embassy is always a good calling point if you want to meet other nationals. Many people follow their husbands or wives abroad and lack things to fill up their time with, particularly social events on the calender.