Teaching ESL in Cairo

Hi! I would like to teach ESL and experience Middle Eastern culture. Egypt would be my first choice. I fell in love with those Lawrence Durrell books and have dreamed about the country since. When does the school year start here? I am getting my CELTA certification soon (I have a bachelor's in English) but don't think I can afford to fly out for one of the international job fairs that have been recommended as an "in" to work at an Egyptian school/company. Would it be insane to just hop on a plane and come? Be a 'local hire?' One of my strengths is being outgoing and personable, so I think I'd have as good a shot as anyone...

study will start on 15 sept.

Yes it start on 15 sept,
but where you live in cairo to suggest you the nearest international school for you and do you speak arabic or not?

Hello

I'm Principal of an American school in Cairo. I still need English Teachers for grades 1, 3 and 11. If u are interested contact me and we will set up an appointment for interview.

Agnes

It is better to be hired from overseas.  You should have your flight paid for and they usually also provide a housing allowance.  Be very careful when looking at property and make sure you use a trusted agent.  Like everyone in the entire world who is out to make money (including your employer)  they see a new face and the dollar signs flash up.  Do your research and be aware!

Hi,
May some help available once you arrived.

Good luck.
Dr. IMIG

ahbanya wrote:

I still need English Teachers for grades 1, 3 and 11.

Hi Agnes,
You should also post in Cairo's Classifieds -> Teaching jobs.
Hope this helps
Arlette

Agnes!
REAL INTERNATIONAL  Schools would make great use of you.
They have already hired for this year. I suggest sending in your CV by mid November!
It is best that you hired from where you are, because you could lose a lot of your benefits.

The reps from these school often travel to the US, Canada and UK for job fairs.