How safe is johannesberg

hi,

i am an indian software engineer. I am being offered a 12 months stay in johannesberg and then back in bangalore by a software company. However, I have read that there are too many crimes in johannesberg and it is not a safe city to stay. Is it true. can anybody living in johannesberg tell me about life there. One more thing, the company is providing the accomadation. I am still not sure which area it is going to be. it would be good if could also list few safe areas that i can demand the accomadation.

I will be coming there with my family.

Hello friend I will tell you one thing about South africa
   first South africa is the safe place to live, if you doing underground business involving bad thing,yes you can get hear,
Johannesburg million of foreign live, doing they business,one thing you have to come see for one week, than to listening a story, hope my word give a bit of idea of you question, all the for you future, work

Hi There,
Tell me which place isnt safe.  I love Johannesburg, its a very beautiful city and I promise you, you wouldnt regret living there.  I would recommend you live in places like Sunninghill, Sandton, Kyalami, Wendywood, Gallormanor, Khayalitsha, Beuccleuch.  When you are on holiday visit Durban and Capetown, no regrets if you move.  By the way, you will be at home, large indian community.

Good luck

Johannesburg is very unsafe. Managed by Nigerian drug lords. Keep your family very close to you at all times. Take your children to and from functions. I didnt want to say what I just said, but the other two posts were not so true to fact.

I am a white British male married to a black South African lady. I have worked on business back and forth in South Africa for 9 years and in Feb 2010 we moved from the UK with our 10 month old son to live in South Africa.