How much to start in Ho Chi Minh

Hello, my partner and I are planning to move to Ho Chi Minh from the U.S in September. I have a bachelors and Celta certificate. He is an experienced highschool teacher with an online tesol certificate looking to teach ESL. How much money should we bring to start our new life? We are trying to budget and save money while we are there. A single bedroom with a working toilet and hot water is enough for us and we'll be buying bicycles when we arrive. Also, we don't plan to look for a job until we arrive since it seems most schools prefer in-person interviews. How long on average would it take for someone with our qualifications to find a decent paying job? Would 2,500 each be enough to get by until our first check? Thank you for any help with this.

Based on mention above, 2500$ is similar 50.000.000 vnđ. The most thing that you shall find a suitable room/ house with cost around 4 -5 mill/ month. 2 bicycles = 5 mill. Some thing for your minimum in daily life will take around 5 mill more. You shall pay at least 15 mill/ month for living. Therefore you will lost at least 30 mill for the first month coming to VN ( maybe more if you not have good preparation). Hope this preliminary can help you for good start and goodluck

Welcome to Saigon!
Expenses depends location, type of accommodation, food and initial necessary items.
If you intend to rent a 1 BR apartment, then it will cost between $350-500. If you need a 1 room (bath attached) in a house it will be below $250 which includes power, water and internet. Food: $60/person. Initial expense (room/house/apartment deposit, other items like bikes,etc) $ 1000
I think you just bring for 2 months enough. That's about $2000.  :)
As native English teachers you will get job easily.

Don't forget to bring your original certificates and non-criminal background record(justice record) from your home country for the purpose of Work Permit.

Yes, good advice from those that posted above.