Homolagação de Sentença Estrangeira (Recognizing foreign Judgments)

Hey everyone, my name is Jocelyn and I am relatively new to the blog. I am trying to get my permanent visa and ran into a bump in the road. Brazil recognizes marriages abroad but not divorces. Therefore I now have to find a lawyer and go through a process to have a judge in the Superior Tribunal de Justiça (STJ) authorize the divorce papers from the judge here before i can register my marriage at the Consulate here in the US and proceed to get my permanent visa. My question is can anyone recommend a lawyer possibly in or around Brasilia that specializes in this type of service? Any suggestions or recommendations would be appreciated. Thank you all so much in advance!

Hi Jocelyn,

http://www.earlylearninghq.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/Welcome-banner.jpg

First of all, on behalf of the entire Expat-blog Team, welcome on board. I hope that your experience here on the blog will be both enjoyable and informative.

Strange that a previous divorce in the USA would even enter into the equation since you couldn't have been granted a Marriage License and legally married a second time around if there was such an impediment as a previous marriage that hadn't first been disolved judicially. But, that's Brazil and the absurd bureaucracy in this country. Anything to pry a few extra reais out of us gringos(as).

At any rate, by law any lawyer in Brazil that is experienced in immigration laws can represent you in this matter. It does not necessarily need to be a lawyer in or around Brasília. If you want a recommendation of a top-notch immigration lawyer, that speaks English fluently since he resided in the USA for many years I have a friend here in Macaé - RJ that fits the bill perfectly. Just say the word and I will send you his name and e-mail in a private message.