Self-employment requirements

Hi all,

Rather than advertise my business here, I'll try to casually describe my situation.  My problem comes down to one issue:  self-employment requirements for English teachers.

Some starter info:  I'm 29, from London, been here while; got an accountant and she set me up to be self-employed as KATA - that's 50K/month, 48K tax free, and 16% on the rest up to about 6 million/year.  I am currently 'paused' since I am between ideas and not making money yet (living on reserves).

Started my business idea but recently been informed that, as with all language-based companies/schools/centres, there are now very strict rules.  Fine.  I am happy to immediately change the business plan/structure to be me, inviting students to my home and that's that, but I understand a teacher must hold an official qualification? I have a TEFL from 10 years ago but I have 9 years experience teaching English and following a free trial recently, I had 100% feedback on my idea.

I'd simply like to know:  when I was set up to be KATA, it was not necessary to provide 'proof' of a qualification so I'm thinking this is one those situations which looks serious on paper, but 100% of people can never say they have been inspected so it almost doesn't matter?

I have no intention to break laws, I wish to settle in Hungary for good, but if I can operate with a few students/evening and average 250-300K (with good, targeted advertising), in the knowledge that I don't have an official qualification (and did not need to provide one), I don't see how I am doing anything wrong?  If I just pay my monthly tax, pay my health care (have the card, have resident's card for BP), they will just leave me alone... right?

Thanks in advance... this is incredibly important to me to know for sure since I must immediately modify my business model and advertising, as well my promotional materials if yes!

Cheers,
LF.

lisztferenc wrote: