Ireland bound for my golden years!! What can I expect??

I am dreaming of GREEN of late, my Irish blood saying to find my roots, and thinking of spending my golden years (I am 57) perhaps in Wexford or Cork.  I'm an American (all of my life) and will be selling my property here in California, taking a small nest egg with me.

So....all you American expats, what's it like?  You think I could live somewhere lovely on $1500/month?  Good idea to buy a little place, or rent?

I'm an artist, writer, photographer, animal-lover, quite content to be single, no children, and just wanting that little heaven on earth on green hills near the shore. 

What do you think??

Hello Nancy, welcome to Expat.com,
I will move your post to the Irish forum to enhance your chances to receive positive answers.
Arlette

Merci  : )

Hi Nancy! Hows things? I'm Irish, I live in Dublin. I'm moving to Denmark so I joined up here and I just thought I'd look at the Irish part and I saw your post. If your an artist/writer/musician then Ireland is great for you as you wont pay any tax on your earnings. Yes, €1500 a month is very do-able for living expenses, but I suppose it depends on you lifestyle. Ireland is tiny so you could visit Wexford and cork and see which you like better (cork is very scenic, but a little more expensive).If you have any questions feel free to get in touch.

Hi, Verno, how nice you responded to my post!  Great news for me that I won't need to pay taxes as an artist/writer.  Thanks for cost of living advice re Wexford or Cork.  Leaning more towards Wexford now, anyway; I hear it's warmer/drier than other areas. 

My income would actually be closer to 1200euros, or possibly 1000euros (I gave you USD amount), but if I rent at max 400euros, I think I could live simply but comfortably -- you think so?  I'd like to do without a car, live in town, etc., which would save some money, surely.

Interesting you are heading to Denmark!  Should be a lovely travel for you.

Thanks,

Nancy