Brits in Rio

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to Rio, I moved here with my husband just before Christmas. We're learning Portuguese (slowly!) but we're really looking to make friends with some fellow English speakers. Please get in touch if you fancy meeting up over a beer/juice....

Nicola

I moved to Goiania, GO with my Brasilian wife this past December. Just a few observations:
As friendly as they appear, Brasilians don't socialize as would westerners. I had to learn that you can spend hours with a group of Brasilians and never learn their names. Be patient and keep learning the language. Buy a pocket translator, a big help. Finally Brasilians joke a LOT, This will complicate your learning of the lingo. It's best to let it pass and wait for the next train of thought to arrive so you can get back on "track".

I just moved to Rio couple of weeks ago.  Though not a brit I am fluent in english.

I hail from Singapore so if your husband and yourself want to meet up, we can always arrange something.  Maybe we can organize a meetup with the rest of the english speaking community staying in Rio.

Hi guys,

I'm in the same boat as you guys-was living in London, and then NZ for a year, and moved over here for my wife's work.
She is Brasillian and has friends, but I'm keen to extend to English speaking peeps for my sanity too :-)
Based in Ipanema.
Get in touch if you and ur hubby keen to go for a drink sometime.
Cheers,
Doug

Hi,

Just joined and saw these posts from a year ago....I live in Copacabana, am English. If you haven't all given up and gone home, would love to meet up for a juice.

Paul

http://i1320.photobucket.com/albums/u531/wjwoodward/BANNER_zps3602e73e.jpg

Hello pallalex,

On behalf of everybody here at Expat-blog, welcome on board. I hope your experience here will be both enjoyable and informative.

I'm sure you'll make lots of new friends in Rio very soon.

Cheers,
James       Expat-blog Experts Team

Hello pallalex,

Welcome to Expat-Blog..:)