Living off the bank interest rate

ANyone doing this right now?
My goal is to move  to vietnam in 2 years,
I WILL NOT get a job or neither will i ever work in vietnam for a living..
Lets say i put 2 bill dong in vietnamese bank, and just live of the interest rate.
and i will buy apartment 1,2- 1,3 bill dong top.
is there anyway i can survive this project?

i want to retire  as soon as possible.
im 30 years old now

Well, it's hard to predict Vietnam's financial situation in 2 years. Assuming that the numbers stay the way they are now, the answer is probably no, depending on where in Vietnam you live. If you want to live a somewhat high-end lifestyle, the answer is definitely no.

I did a quick google search and it looks like the current interest rate in Vietnam is 8% and inflation last year was 6%, so your real interest rate is 2%. This is an optimistic number since this 6% was quoted as the lowest in the last 10 year, so you should expect inflation to be higher, resulting in less than 2% real interest. 2% of 2 billion is 40 million per year or 3.3 million per month, which is about $175 right now.

I'm moving to Vietnam soon and $175 doesn't even cover rent in Saigon. Since you said you'd buy a house, I'll assume that you don't pay rent. Food costs about $2-3 per meal if you're cheap, so let's conservatively assume that you'll spend $150/month on food. So this means that optimistically, your interest will barely cover food, let alone utilities like electricity, internet, water...

The other thing is that when interest rate's that high (8%), it often means they expect the currency to depreciate. So if you expect to spend outside of Vietnam (like for traveling) or buy imported goods and services, you'll find your ability to afford them decrease over time.

So no, not a good idea.

crazybitch wrote:

Lets say i put 2 bill dong in vietnamese bank, and just live of the interest rate.

im 30 years old now