Chicago College Student...Help!

I am a student at DePaul University in Chicago, Illinois. I met someone here at school my freshman year, who came from Puerto Rico. Since then, I have gone back home with him to San Juan every break we have had so far, and we've been together for about a year and a half now. He is definitely going back to Puerto Rico after we graduate (we are the same year), because he wishes to take over his dad's business. As for me, there is a high possibility now that I will be making the move as well. However, I have no connections in Puerto Rico for potential internships or jobs, and don't know how to go about making any professional relationships over there, so I thought to start here! My ultimate goal would be to hold a job that would not require me to speak Spanish, although I do know I would have to speak it outside of work anyway. If anyone has any suggestions as to any of the concerns you feel I may run into, or any words of advice, please let me know! Everything and anything will be greatly appreciated. Thank you!!

First off, do you speak any Spanish?  I would get a set of Rosetta Stone Latin American Spanish CD's and learn from them.  It is the best way I have ever found to learn a language. In my life I have learned and "lost" my knowledge of Swedish, Dutch and French - if you don't use them you will lose them!  Rosetta costs some $$'s but is well worth it.  Also get a dictionary of Latin American slang...........it will help greatly. Each country has it's own slang and what you may be saying will be fine in one country and very bad in another.  Case in point - inflection in Chinese.  YOu might want to say "your mother is a wonderful lady"  only to be saying "your mother is a &*()% ((&^$%!  Not a good way to make friends!

DH  and I are planning on moving to PR in early 2012.  Even he is trying to learn the language. We also have done a good bit of study re. the culture and etc.  You will be moving into a totally different lifestyle.