Housing, Ecole Maternelle & Creche in Bordeaux

Good Morning Everybody,

First, allow me to start with a confession- It is my first time on a forum :) So, if I am making some rookie mistakes please bare with me and feel free to advise and/or assist.

My husband is French and has recently started a new post in AIRBUS in Bordeaux and we expect to join him at the beginning of the summer. By WE I mean- My (almost) 4 year old Laure and 1 year old baby Louise and Myself.

We are currently looking to rent a house in Bordeaux (heard Cauderan and Bouscat are nice quartiers, is that so?) or maybe in the close area (Pessac?)
and
A Creche + Ecole Maternelle. I am looking for an open-minded / out-of-the-box / international schooling solutions.

Any Recommendations/ Suggestions/ Tips/ Leads/ Warnings/ Feel free to share your experience and Ideas.

Many thanks,

Noam

Hi Noam,

(almost) Welcome to Bordeaux.  I'm based in Léognan, just south of the Rocade - I love being that little bit outside of the city.

I've been here for almost 3 years - we arrived in April 2011 (that's me & my French husband) when Lara was 2 and Max 4 months.  The first thing we HAD to do was get registered at CAF for Social Security & for our Carte Vitales (French healthcare).  The urgence was because of the creche system over here - limited places and usually require both parents working.  My husband managed to register our 2 in time, but also over the coming months persuaded/charmed the creche that I needed one day a week to learn French - he did this by lots of regular gentle contact.  In the September Lara started aged 2.5 and Max at 9 months.