Registering as a freelance writer in Norway

Hi, I very recently moved to Norway, about 10 months ahead of schedule due to a volunteering opportunity arising. In the next couple of days I will be registering on the UDI registering scheme. Apparently after five years I can apply for a citizenship.

I was wondering who I need to inform about the fact that I'm a self-employed writer? (I volunteer for 25 hours a week and write the rest of the time). My friend suggested I go along to the tax office, but I didn't know if registering myself as self-employed is something I can do online?

Any advice would be great! I want to make sure that I do everything right. Thank you in advance.

first of all, I asked an admin to move your thread to the Norway forum rather than in this general expat forum.

second of all, I do recommend going to the tax office because they're helpful for all these kinds of things and you know you're getting the information straight from the horse's mouth! You could also call them but I have better experience in person. Don't you have to go there anyway to register after you go to the police?

Finally, I'm just curious, why are you interested in getting citizenship in Norway? Most people seem quite wary of it given that you are required to relinquish other citizenships before you can adopt it.

Thank you for your advice and for moving my post. I totally forgot to put it in the Norway section. Living in Norway has been a dream since childhood. It's what I've wanted more than anything. I love the country. I love the language. I love the history. I love the culture. I want to be a permanent part of it. (:

thread moved to the Norway forum ;)