Change of address--Federal Police. Experiences?

Hello all,
I understand that gringoes in Brasil are supposed to update their addresses with the federal police when they move. Just out of curiosity, does anyone actually bother doing this? Although I have lived in Brasil for about 13 years and have moved several times I have maintained the same address because I continued to own the house that was originally registered as my home during the immigration process. However, I have now sold it, and obviously can no longer say this is my address. Of course, my address is up to date on my Brasil tax return (which would be enough in most countries) and other legal documents. I am a permanent resident with an RNE, not a citizen.

Hopefully, every foreigner does bother to notify the Policia Federal of any change of address. By law this is required to be done within 30 days of any move. You will receive a protocolo to prove that you've registered the change of address and you are required to carry the ORIGINAL of that protocolo with your other documents of identity. I trust that since you're here in Brazil for many years now that you do hold your Cédula de Identidade Estrangeiro (CIE), you should keep your address change protocolo with that. If anything ever happens chances are quite good that police officers will want to see both.

I'm not sure if this legal requirement to register your address ends if one naturalizes as a citizen. I would think it does, but that is something I will have to check the next time I visit DELEMIG.

Cheers,
William James Woodward, Expat-blog Experts Team