Rent commission for real estate agent

hi everybody!

I'm about to rent a long-term apartment to let, now I just want to make sure how this works:

1) you pay 1 month of rent price for DEPOSIT to landlord (which you get back when you decide to leave this flat)
2) you pay 50% of 1 month price rent to real estate agent when you sign the contract with landlord
3) when moving in on the 1st day, you pay 1 month rent price in advance

Is that correct?

Mostly I'm interested in that commission for agent. Is this defined by law or how this things go here?

Thanks

Hi,

I am an agent here in malta and I can tell you that for an agent the fees correspond to half of the price of the rent, in most of real estate agency on the Island.

For the rest its all correct you have to pay the deposit to reserve the apartment and the 1st month rent when you sign the contract.

Hope this helped, you can message me directly if you have more questions :)

Nothing is 'universal' here. Just depends upon the individual case.

dont expect to get your deposit back - its in no way guaranteed by anyone - contract or no contract - the landlords here will try to keep it and use every resource in their vast armoury to not pay it back......

Toons correct never met anyone yet who managed to get the deposit returned in cash!

Terry

sometimes you have to play them at their own game - when you are to leave the accom - dont pay the rent for the last month tell them to take it out of the deposit... keep your cash in your pocket,,, be warned..... and protect your self - coz they wont.

We signed all papers when leaving the apartments and offset the deposit with outstanding amounts for the last ARMS bills - I just paid the small difference. No questions with the landlord. So yes, nothing is 'universal' here :)

romild0 wrote:

2) you pay 50% of 1 month price rent to real estate agent when you sign the contract with landlord

Plus VAT

georgeingozo wrote:
romild0 wrote:

Plus VAT