Submitted EOI

Kia-ora! :) I submitted my EOI on monday and together we have 125 points and I am a secondary school teacher (absolute skills shortage) and have 20 points for work experience, currently without a job offer. I was wondering when EOI are taken 'out of the pool' Do the ones that were there before you go up the list or is it like a lucky dip. I'd just like clarification on how the process works.
Cheers :)

We were told that those on the skilled shortage list were always given top priority.  Our EOI was chosen in the first 'dip'. 

But even after that it took over a year to get through the system for permanency.

Thanks for your help :)

Why no job offer? If you're in profession that's considered to be an "absolute skills shortage" surely schools must be falling over themselves to offer you a job?

Take some good advice and be careful, don't up sticks and leave for NZ until you have a firm job offer.

There's nothing worse than being unemployed in NZ and living off rapidly dwindling savings.

Oh I've had an interview and have a recruitment agency working on my behalf. I will not be going without a job offer, l just wanted to get my EOI in the pool until one comes up. Plan to leave early Jan :)
Yes Secondary Technology teacher are in demand, just not posting vacancies for the start of Term 1 yet! :)

Sue

If its just you and a partner, then you could always arrive on a work permit then apply for residency from here (if you decide to stay). Many of my colleagues on the skilled shorlist have done just that.  My son (unskilled) came over without anything, got a job then applied for a work permit. None of us used recruitment agencies, including my hubby and myself, both on the skilled shortage list too.

But as Pandora said, use the time wisely to check out every website.