Minimum price of property when buying

Hey guys,

I'm just starting out on my plan to move to Malta/Gozo which I'm hoping to complete by the middle of next year; it would be sooner but both me and the wife have work commitments that will hold us in the UK until then. Plus I think it will be easier to move the kids (twins in Year 1) at the start of a new academic year.

My question is around the lower limits on property prices when you come to buy as an EU citizen. I've read on various sites that there is a minimum price when purchasing as an EU citizen if the property is not going to be a primary residence. As I'm hoping to keep the house in the UK (for rental or when we come back to see the family) I don't know where I stand on whether the UK property will still be classed as my primary residence. Has anyone done the same thing and if so were there any problems in keeping a place in the UK and buying a property below the minimum price in Malta?

Just to add to the mix my wife is half Gozotan but was born in the UK and has not yet claimed her Maltese passport even though she's entitled to one (I think). If she were to claim dual citizenship would this mean she is exempt from the minimum price levels whether we keep the UK property or not?

Cheers,

Gareth

I urge you to think again about buying property here, Over inflated prices, inheritance laws and inability to sell on can cause problems. Rent at first. I do not understand the reference to 'minimum price levels.

Don't worry, I'm not planning to buy until we've been there a good few years to make sure we actually want to stay. Then I'll start looking into all the due diligence with inheritance law and other fun stuff.

The "minimum price level" I'm talking about is based on the following from franksalt.com.mt: