This place can be quite lonely

It's an odd feeling. A city so busy, filled with people motion and commotion, but for someone not from here, its different. Maybe that's the expat experience. This is my first time. Maybe its just something to get used to, something to push away, on the edge of thought, with coffee shops and malls, restaurants and movie theaters.

I find myself straining as I walk the aisles of stores, hoping to catch a glimpse of English. It's only happened twice, but each time I wonder if I should say something, if they are feeling the same way, or the fact that they are speaking english means there is someone else to blow off the loneliness with.

Ehh or maybe I'm just being melodramatic. :)

So ya, I'm looking for some people in Amman to hang out with. Im from the states. So what is there to do here?

hi how are you ? i hope you would like it here

Hi,

I'm from the states too, and wouldn't mind hanging with a fellow Yankee. I moved here last year from Chicago. Where are you from?

Thanks for the replies.

I moved here from California. Out here working at a technology firm. I've been trying to go out exploring every now and then, so my circle of comfort with the area has been growing. 

How has this past year been for you? How did you go about meeting people? Definitely interested in hanging out doing whatever. Would love to find a hoop if anyone plays pickup games. Though culturally I'm not sure if the "lets play with random people" thing works here.

Forgot to mention I was actually in Chicago this past year for work. Which part of Chicago are you from?

Hello AmanInAmman,
a suggestion that may be useful (if interested in local community):
From my experience in travelling middle East and Jordan, I would suggest if one is a muslim to go to your local mosque for prayer that way you can also get to know some of the local people.  Here you could eventually end up meeting many helpful people + also professionals.

Hi, to all