Trade/exchange language (Viet/Eng) - have 2yr Vietnamese language exp.

Hi all,

Wife and I just moved to HCMC from the States for an indefinite amount of time.

My personal goal during my time here is to 1) find a job that allows me to use my MBA, and 2) increase my Vietnamese language skill.

I studied Vietnamese at the Univ of Washington for two years, and then studied in Ha Noi for 3mo.

I have a good handle on the basics of the language. I can read/write/type. However, learning the Southern Vietnamese accent is HARD. I speak with a Ha Noi accent.

We're on a budget, so language schools are not an option until I find a job. Thus, I'd like to partner with someone who speaks English around my same level.

I have previous experience with language exchange partners, and I used to tutor in English.

Looking for serious practitioners only. I'm married, so not trying to hook up with the ladies or anything like that :)

Any support or suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Many thanks in advance!

Turbopaved

------------------

Xin chao cac ban,

Vo va toi moi den HCMC tu My, khong biet khi nao ve.

O day, toi co hai cai muc dich: 1) duoc viec lam ma de toi dung MBA, va 2) noi tieng viet gioi hon.

Toi hoc tieng Viet hai nam o dai hoc Washington, va tiep hoc o Ha Noi ba thang.

Toi co the doc/viet/type. Nhung, hoc va noi tieng Nam kho lam! Toi da hoc tieng Viet bang giong Bac.

Bay gio, toi khong di truong duoc, mat nhieu tien va chua co viec lam. Cho nen, toi muon gap ban ma biet noi tieng Anh going nhu toi noi tieng Viet.

Toi co kinh nghiem voi language partner va day tieng Anh la tutor.

Muon gap ban ma rat muon tap noi tieng Anh thoi. Toi co vo, khong muon dung nay de gap co gai.

Cam on nhien cac ban.

Turbopaved

Wow.

very good vietnamese using.

turbopaved wrote:

I studied Vietnamese at the Univ of Washington for two years, and then studied in Ha Noi for 3mo.

Go Huskies!