Taxi scam in Vietnam

Xaviar84 wrote:

I will be moving to HCMC in December 2013... I work in the hotel industry and from what I've read there seems to be a massive boom in the hospitality industry at the moment. Hotels such as The Pullman, The Reverie and Le Meridien to name but a few that are in the process of opening within the next 6 months...theres even a Ritz-Carlton property coming in 2015!

That's opposite from what I've read.  While it may be true that buildings are going up, tourism, however, is flat-lining at best.  There's been too many taxi scam, tourism mugging stories getting out that many foreigners are thinking twice about visiting Việt Nam.

But let's say what you read is true.  Even if we have many hotels opening up, those jobs are labor jobs that will go to Locals, not Expats.

Tran Hung Dao wrote:
Xaviar84 wrote:

I will be moving to HCMC in December 2013... I work in the hotel industry and from what I've read there seems to be a massive boom in the hospitality industry at the moment. Hotels such as The Pullman, The Reverie and Le Meridien to name but a few that are in the process of opening within the next 6 months...theres even a Ritz-Carlton property coming in 2015!

That's opposite from what I've read.  While it may be true that buildings are going up, tourism, however, is flat-lining at best.  There's been too many taxi scam, tourism mugging stories getting out that many foreigners are thinking twice about visiting Việt Nam.

But let's say what you read is true.  Even if we have many hotels opening up, those jobs are labor jobs that will go to Locals, not Expats.

I'm currently living off Nguyen Trai st in District 1. I go out at night and have many expat friends here. I haven't heard of anyone getting robbed, or this hoodlum problem you speak of. Taxi scams are common. That's why you stick to Vinasun or Mai Linh genuine taxis.

Big_Mac! wrote:

...That's why you stick to Vinasun or Mai Linh genuine taxis.