Hot water?

Anybody has a clue why my hot water is yellow? cold water is ok, but when I fill out the tub hot water is yellow, also in kitchen (different heater) is the same situation

Landlords don't know why is so, I doubt it's the main heater as it's new, but have no idea why what else could be a problem

help?

While I'm not an expert on either Malta or water my guess is that you've never tried to fill your bathtub with cold water. I bet if you did you'd find it's yellow too. Usually in a sink you don't accumulate enough water to really notice a difference in color. I have well water here where I live in Brazil and it's constantly yellow, smells of sulphur and cannot be used for drinking.

If both the hot and cold water are yellow then you can be relatively sure that the discoloration is from the water source. I understand that Malta is mostly well water. Does it have any odd smell, like maybe sulphur? The discoloration could be caused by minerals disolved in the water.

If the cold water really is clear and not yellow like the hot water then you're probably looking at some kind of build up of rust in the pipes and water heaters. Do you know what the hot and cold water pipes are made of? Are they copper, iron or PVC pipes? If you've got iron pipes then there's little you can do short of re-plumbing the entire house. Once they're rusted it will discolor the water. If you have iron pipes for hot water you may still have either copper or PVC for cold water plumbing, which could also explain the color difference.

Hope this helps you figure things out.

http://yoursmiles.org/tsmile/flag/t67118.gif  Cheers,  http://yoursmiles.org/tsmile/flag/t67054.gif
  William James Woodward – Brazil Animator, Expat-blog Team

have the tanks ever been flushed right through - usually the tanks hold about 500L... does anyone else in the street or apartment block have the same problem

I even had that in our appartment at tigne point which was rather new.