Input/Advice Needed for Temporary Housing Locations Bukit Peninsula

I'm pulling the trigger! Making the move in 2014 to Bali. I work as a Merchant Mariner & will finish my next trip out to sea in April 2014 & will go straight from my ship to Bali. I don't know anyone there & I have no idea where I will stay. I'd like to rent a room for a couple of months while I shop around for a decent place for long term living. I will have money for the annual rent, not a problem there. My ideal place would be somewhere I can wake up, grab my board & walk down for a surf. I don't need or want anything fancy, a clean room with a fan and my own toilet would be just fine. Also kitchen privileges! What are some good areas I should be looking for? I am 43 & single, I don't drink or party but I don't want to be isolated either. I enjoy socializing & being around other people just not into partying all night. I'll be flying into Denpasar & my plan is to get a room in a nearby hotel for a couple nights until I can find a decent room to rent. I've read through these forums extensively, am I going about this the right way? I plan on staying a couple months at least & hope to make some new friends to help me in my transition to life in Bali. Surfing is my passion so being close to quality waves is a must! I'm also a classically trained Chef so having local markets nearby is also desirable. Should I just rent a room for long term? (annually) Is that even possible? Would an apartment be a better idea? I'll be buying a couple of surfboards upon arrival & would like to have a safe place to leave my things while I work. I typically work four months & then off four months. I've searched around for an idea on prices but it seems to be all over the place. Is it possible to find a nice room for under 30 million annually? I know internet prices are always high so I'd like a realistic idea of what to expect so I don't get burned. Thanks in advance for any advice/input.