Hi Everyone!

Hi All

I am new to this blog and thought that I should drop a quick note to the members to say hi. Coming over to Ireland in November to investigate a few 'moving over' issues and will then be back again in January 2011 (and basically hit the ground running)in a manner of speaking.....

Is there anything I need to know apart from the 'slower' pace of life and weather:)or even some useful advice. I would appreciate any contact from Ireland.............

Chow Chow for now

Welcome on Expat.com Doublesixguy !

Doublesixguy ~

Why are you thinking of moving to Ireland? This country is, basically, a third world country with bad weather and its best frock on.

It's expensive. The standard of education is low and the healthcare is appalling. You could be waiting several months to see a consultant - and that's if you go private.

I lived abroad for 10 years and returned 5 years ago. I feel I have given it my best shot and am keen to leave again.

Unfortunately, Irish people are not as friendly as people who live in other countries have been led to believe. Irish people will (eventually) invite you out for a drink, or whatever but as my German neighbour pointed out 'You never get over the threshold'.

I am sorry I am painting a negative picture, but I would hate for you to have the idea of Ireland as a fabulous place to live and be disappointed.

For more about Irish issues, you can visit: ladyscribbles.wordpress.com
There are far, far better places to live than Ireland.

Hi

Is Ishkah's opinion the general opinion of all?

keen to know........

of course it's not! A few friends spent a couple of years in Dublin and they were pretty happy with their life there !

Thought so... You based in SA?

We have  frieds who are  from Sweden, Uk , USA...etc Everybody is happy with their life here. Irish people are friendly , if you need help they are ready for it. Dublin is a lovely city

Hi M

Thanks for your take on Ireland. I thought as much!