Moving to Jeddah soon.

Hello everyone. I'd like to say thanks to everyone who responds to these posts because they have been a huge help to me. I've been reading this blog for a couple of hours.
I was contacted by an employer from Jeddah about 5 days ago and I got hired today. So needless to say I haven't had much time to do much research.
I am an American resident but born in Durban, South Africa where there's a huge population of Muslim culture. As someone who's lived in a foreign country I do understand and accept that there are going to be some challenges and I'm ready for that.

What I'm interested in is meeting and connecting with the expat community and making new friends.

I'm a single female so I suppose that means I can only hang out with other single females?

I'd love to see where to shop, cafés perhaps where single women are allowed.
I would Iike to do during my free time(Sundays) is learn to play piano, learn to speak Arabic and to do any other LEGAL fun stuff. :-)

Any suggestions will be highly appreciated. Thanks.

Hi Acuteabby,

Welcome to Expat-Blog :)

Please note that your post is now on the Jeddah Forum for better visibility :)

Best wishes !

Thank you

Maximilien
Expat-blog Team

Welcome to Expat-Blog. Wish you all the best :)

Hi Acuteabby,

Welcome to Jeddah.

I am From Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. I born here and I am sure you will love Jeddah because the atmosphere in Jeddah is not far from the atmosphere in some USA cities.

My wife and I just back from Los Angeles, USA 3 weeks ago after being there 4 years to to get our master degree.

We will be more than happy to help you with all what you need here in Jeddah before or after your arriving ..

You can contact me:

hsh1430h [at] hotmail. com

hsh One Four Three Zero [at] hotmail.

Thank you for your response. I will definitely be in touch & thank you for being open to helping me.

Abby

Thank you.

welcome to Jeddah