Local work contract conditions - need your advice

Hello,

I have just been proposed a job (operational controlling team, in charge of different peformance reporting instruments) in NY (based in Manhattan) and I don't know what to think about the conditions. Any comment regarding the adequation vs the cost of life in NY or about whether or not the salary matches the local averages for that kind of job are welcome...
Here are the conditions:
-$45,000 yearly (the proposal states a yearly payrise ranging between 5-10%)
-15 vacation days, 5 sick days
-some commuters benefits
-health insurance paid by the employer with some co-payments still to be paid by the employee (from $25 to $500)

My background is in Finance controlling (2 years internships+ 1 year and 9 months as an expatriate in Australia)

Please let me know what you think

Masdu

One other quick precision, another aspect that adds to the confusion is also the recession that is announced in the US for 2008...

Do you live in the US ?
Or will you need a visa ?
Do you have children ?

45000$ per year is about what earn a school teacher or a call center employee.
The other conditions are about the same as the very basic proposed to any employees.

I'll need a Visa, and my (potential) employer will go through the admin process for me... I don't have any children.

I just found the salary proposed so low, which is why I needed comments. I suspect the HR lady I talked to must have made a very low proposal, expecting me to propose a salary much higher than what she proposed and eventually agree on an in between amount

I found this web page giving average salaries per categories of work: http://www.nyjobsource.com/salary/business.html

Do you think that mirrors the 2008 situation?

Masdu wrote:

Do you think that mirrors the 2008 situation?

Yes kind of, check also:
http://www.payscale.com/research/US/Sta … ork/Salary