Happy to join this group.

While I feel like an expat at times, I am not! I am Dominican born but spent 8 years in the USA and Canada.

I am an unemployed architect (actually, I use the term "semi-retired" because it sounds nicer) turned web publisher, freelance writer and translator/interpreter. So, you see, the recession got to me too. But what's been a constant throughout my long career is that I am passionate about everything I do. It feels like playing instead of working.

Likewise I enjoy assisting (potential) expats, particularly Americans and Canadians, in learning about the D.R. and adjusting to life and business here. It's my way of paying back for the hospitality I received earlier in my life when I lived in those countries.

I hope to have a chance to meet some of you, make new friends and -- who knows? -- maybe get married again (girls only, please!).

Cheers,
LUIS

Welcome Luis!!!! As someone who knows Luis well, I can say he is well informed articulate and honest! We look forward to your input  Luis.

Let me add my welcome as well. I am sure that your knowledge and experience will be an asset to the forum

Bob K

Thanks for the kind welcome.

I just read this interesting article which I'd like to share with all existing and prospective members of the forum, but being new I'm not sure under which categories to post it, so I'd like your advice.

businessinsider.com/people-who-work-in-paradise-2013-8?utm_source=alerts&nr_email_referer

Hi Luis.
It's nice to have a new contributing member! We share a love for writing and translating...my mom was French and my father from Venezuela, so those were my first two languages. I later studied in Geneva to become a translator. Currently semi-retired like you, I enjoy living in Jarabacoa because the weather is truly enjoyable here. Do you enjoy traveling?

Hi Michita