Single Guy moving to Thailand but where to Rent (?)

Hi guys,

I'm leaving sunny Scotland in the UK and moving out to Thailand soon for anywhere between 6 months to 2 years or more.

I'm a single guy, 33 years old and looking for some advice on the best place to rent while meeting the following criteria:

- 1 bedroom or studio
- ADSL/Broadband Internet is a must as I work from home and would prefer to have high speed if possible.
- Fitness center or gym within walking distance.
- Hot water.
- Air conditioning.
- Fully Furnished.
- I'd prefer to cut rental cost slightly by living just outside Bangkok (10 miles max) but not at the expense of fast/reliable internet access.
- Somewhere within walking distance to the coast would be brilliant.

I'm still researching the country and Bangkok in particular so any extra advice is more than appreciated, especially visa advice.

I play online poker for a living which might not lend itself to obtaining a long term visa.  I was in the British Royal Air Force for 12 years as a Policeman but have no real transferable job related qualifications.

Along with my own searches on the internet I've also read this topic on your boards which gave some very helpful advice and website links:

https://www.expat.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=62538

Best Regards,

Davey

WanLangPeee wrote:

Hi guys,

I'm leaving sunny Scotland in the UK and moving out to Thailand soon for anywhere between 6 months to 2 years or more.

I'm a single guy, 33 years old and looking for some advice on the best place to rent while meeting the following criteria:

- 1 bedroom or studio
- ADSL/Broadband Internet is a must as I work from home and would prefer to have high speed if possible.
- Fitness center or gym within walking distance.
- Hot water.
- Air conditioning.
- Fully Furnished.
- I'd prefer to cut rental cost slightly by living just outside Bangkok (10 miles max) but not at the expense of fast/reliable internet access.