Moving to Asuncion

I will soon be moving to Paraguay to live. I am a teacher in the US (English and Spanish). I've previously lived in Ciudad del Este, Paraguay, for a year. I am wondering if anyone has gone through the steps to become a teacher in Paraguay. What documentation did you need? I know there will be documents I will need to legalize through the Paraguayan consulate. What do these include? (College diploma, police clearance, birth certificate... and?) Do these need to be notarized prior to sending to the consulate? Do they need to be apostillized or anything additional? (The consulate gives me a different answer ever time I ask, and New York, where I have to go through, NEVER tells me what the other consulates do, even though the other consulates agree).

Secondly, apart from searching through online classifieds, is there any other way to go about looking for a teaching job? What are some of the schools that might be interested in an English teacher? Any suggestions?

Thank you!

hi there,
you could ask these questions to english language schools in Asuncion.  http://www.ccpa.edu.py/http://www.asa.edu.py/index.php?cod=emp … pag=1&ms=1

the director of the Universidad Americana language school is Mr. Fernando Gimenez  [email protected]  you could try asking him about a position

good luck!

Thank you for your response and suggestions! I've contacted CCPA and MEC with no reply. (Yes, I've phoned as well... I am always given an email to contact, which so far, has not resulted in anyone responding). I know that's pretty typical and a lot of things I'll have to do once in the country, but am really hoping to get the paperwork I need from the U.S. legalized before leaving. I'll try the other 2 sources you suggested and hope for an eventual answer from the others. :)

Hi,