Torn between moving to the D.R. or not?

Hi,
Do it!!

I was also raised in Canada. Ottawa to be exact. And that's all I knew. My family is from Europe and so I grew up in a household constantly listening to what the world is like outside of the depressing, political, monotone lifestyle Canada offers.

To make a longer story short, I decided to move to the D.R.I am also a teacher and I teach here. I have been here 10 years now. I go back "home" every couple years to visit some family. And I can't stand it. I usually end up leaving earlier to return to the D.R then expected.

Life here is very relaxing, everything is done at your own pace.There is no red tape here, no customer service ques for hours. No taxes, however no pensions :(, everything you make is yours, everything you purchase is yours. Your sole responsibility is to yourself here. Many many many foreigners live here. So you find friends, and great deals, and helpful people. And the best part is, its always sunny !! No more grey skies, bus stops in the snow, living indoors. Here you enjoy weekend getaways to the mountains, days at the nearest beaches, friends are always having bbq's or some type of events.

But the cost of this living style is you have no protection. Meaning no financial security, customer service doesn't exist, if its broken - its broken. People both native and foreign may try to take advantage of your little experience here and so you might pay double for something then what its really worth. The law system is a joke, and the hospitals are basic. Now medical care here is private and very affordable. And we do have some great fantastic hospitals and Doctors here, you just need to search.

All in all, come down for a year, apartments are cheap and life will be easy, then make your decision.

Good Luck,

P.s.

If you are a city girl, Santo Domingo is like Toronto/New York mix, Highrises, crime, endless traffic but lots of diversion.