Hi I am a newbie, Exploring Costa Rica

Hello, My name is Louise Williams, and I am here to get as much information, feedback and suggestions as humanly possible about living and traveling abroad.

My husband and I have talked for many years, about spending time in a new country, learning a new language, exploring a new culture and getting away from our daily routine at home.  We have talked about many places that would be ideal or at least worth exploring, but one place that keeps tugging at us and is Costa Rica, and so hear I am to learn as much as I can about this intriguing country, the possibility of us traveling there and staying for a few weeks up to a month. 

We are both 50+ years young, and with we what hope is many more years of living this life.

My hubby is currently semi-retired, and I still work full time. My current employer is in the midst of transitioning because of healthcare reform, and I either will or will not have a job come January 1, 2014.  I have been job hunting while I still have one, and I may still be employed at my current job come January, nothing has been decided yet, however, I told my hubby this could be a perfect opportunity for us to jump ship for a few weeks or month in 2014 to explore our options to visit Costa Rica.  We have two adult children who are no longer living at home, Yipppee!; Are we rich?? Not even close..Do we have tons of money in the bank, Nope, has that every stopped anyone before? I don't think so.  With that being said, of course we will not be traveling anywhere flat broke, but as I told him, we are not getting any younger, and nothing is guaranteed in this life, so if the opportunity presents itself we should seriously consider it.

Nothing has been decided yet, we may decide this is not what we want to do after all, but until then, I am looking forward to any and all feedback, tips, suggestions that I can get.

Hello louise71594.

Welcome to Expat.com :)

Thanks.

Karen :)

Hi Karen :)

Louise,