New kid on the block

Hi there to all,

I am Ovi and just registerd here on the expat forum because I am very much interested to live in Mexico and would like to know as much as possible from many of you who'll be nice to help me with any advice.
I can tell you about me that I make a living working from home via internet, drawing storyboards for TV commercials and also do illustrations for magazines and various publishers here and Europe.I am a professional artist illustrator for 25 years of which the last 10 in the Advertising business,the first 14 as a comic book artist for Marvel Comics.I know that there are agencies in Mexico too and I could get work from them also besides from my regular clients thru the 4 studio agencies that represents me in L.A.,NYC,and London/UK.

I'd like to live somewhere in Tijuana and to me a decent place will do it.I don't need more than a 1 Br. apt.but I have no idea of how life is in Tijuana and the rental prices and how to obtain a FM3 visa...I do not need to have a work permit because I don't have to work in a Mexican business place.I also lived for some years in France,Italy and Germany still doing my work thru the same agencies that represents me in the USA.I could do my work in any part of the world but this time I'd like to settle in Tijuana...don't ask me why I decided this way because a proper answer I don't have:) It just came to me out of a sudden and I made up my mind of packing my things(which aren't many:)),get in my car and come down to Mexico. I'll still have to settle few things here that might take me 1-2 months to finish.
But I'd like to know the procedures of doing it.And I made a list here but if you have more to add the better:
-Do I have to get a visa from the Mexican Consulate in Sacramento to come to Mexico?Or can I get it at the border when crossing by car?
-Is it possible to have a visa issued for 6 months?Can I apply for FM3 visa  being in Mexico?