Treatment of East Asians (Korean, Chinese,etc) / Sexual Harassment

Hello everybody,

This is my first time posting in these forums. I've just been offered an esl job in Saudi Arabia, and it's very likely that I will soon be moving to the magical land of sand and burkas.

As a young, single Korean-American woman, I've been curious about how East Asians are treated in Saudi Arabia due to safety reasons, and I'm hoping someone here will be able to enlighten me.  I've done a fair amount of research on this issue, and I've gathered that South and Southeast Asians are generally subject to racial discrimination, particularly filipina women, who are often sexually harassed by Saudi men on the streets.

I'm curious if this is the case with East Asians (e.g. Korean, Chinese, Japanese) as well. I read from one source that Saudis treat the Japanese as respectfully as they do Westerners due to the developed Japanese economy (if that's the case, I suppose it would be the same for Koreans since we look similar) but it's been impossible to find verification or any more information on this subject. There do not seem to be many East Asians in SA.

Saudi Arabia seems to be relatively safe, perhaps even safer than living in NYC, and I am more afraid of being bored than I am of sexual assault. But as much as I love adventure, I would like to be informed of all the risks I could potentially encounter.

I apologize for the length of this post, and I would appreciate any input! Thanks :cool:

its not bad, from what gave sern Asians are treated ok. now others like Bangladashes are not treated that well. it also depends where you are in Saudi and your profession. it can be boring though. i am going through that adjustment now.

Thank you for your comment, beridge. Have you come across many East Asians during your time in SA? And yes, I'm also very worried about being bored...