Observations of Thai Culture

First let me say that I have been coming to Thailand for more than 40 years...am now retired and call Thailand home...

I love the people...the culture...the food...the markets...beaches and national parks...

I have never read about the subject I am about to discuss with you...

It concerns a cultural phenomenon...when money exchanges hands between a foreigner and a Thai business person..

This could be during a trip to the local market...a restaurant...buying property or housing...buying a new car...even a banking transaction...

The Thais are very pleasant...charming...accommodating...appear to be genuine in their expressions of friendship...they will disarm you...cause you to relax...gain your trust...DO NOT BELIEVE IT!

Buyer be careful...

Honestly...if you are new to Thailand...then you have an excuse...you are just uninformed...do not know the language...or culture...

I do not mean this ugly...but you are viewed by the majority of the Thai business community...as an ATM Machine...that is filled with money...their job is to get as much from the machine...while they have the opportunity...as possible...and deceit...misinformation...and an outright lack of truthful disclosure...are the norm...

It sound petty...but you would be wise to carry a small calculator with you...to check your transactions...

Real Estate...unregulated...anyone can print business cards and setup an office...many lack integrity...

An internationally well known and respected new car dealership...no exception...when it comes to deception...

Enjoy your stay...just watch your money...they are clever...seem to be doing you a favor...it is all an act...premeditated and planned to remove money from the ATM machine...

Good Luck!

Hi and welcome to Expat.com georgeteague66 !

Wow. I guess we have seen happier introductory posts.
Anyway thanks for sharing your experience and warning others against possible misadventures.