Living and working in Bali

I have a few questions about living and working in Bali. My husband and I have been wanting to spend a year or so living in Bali and experiencing a different culture. I spent 12 months in Malaysia with my family when I was 9 and this was the most amazing experience for me growing up. We have 2 children and would love them to experience a different way of life as well. I have no idea where to start thought.

We would love to live somewhere quite and preferably a non tourist area as I'd love my children to experience life in a smaller village type place. Any ideas where this may be?

Also, how hard would it be fo us to get work there? We don;t mind what we do. I used to speak Indonesian quite well as I studied it an university, however I haven't spoke for a while but with some lessons would be a good speaker. Would this help? I would love to teach English to local students or something is this type of work readily available in Bali?

Also, where would we start in looking for a house to live in?

Thanks!!

Hi Louise

Welcome to Expat.com Bali, I suggest you start your research right here by reading the many threads covering a large subject range.

Also we have an expat newspaper here called The Bali Advertiser which
you can Google it and read on Line
Hope this gives you a start
Howard

Hello ,I read about you in this blog that  you are going to live in Bali ,I`m surya and living in Bali ,I can recommend you ,It is better you stay in my village it`s name Singaraja there is a little beat tourist there ,if you interest please contact my email drasuryawati@yahoo,com

Louise, as for working here in Bali, you and your husband will find that very difficult.