Surfing in Nigeria

I am a journalist planning a possible trip to Nigeria - and i'm thinking about bringing a surf board

How is the surf?
Is it consistent?
How polluted is it?
Is access to breaks tricky?

would be great if anyone could help me out.

W

this sounds like a fun day trip!
wannasurf.com/spot/Africa/Nigeria/shipwreck/index.html

Hello Wil Crisp.

A new thread has been created from your message on the Lagos forum for more visibility. ;)

Thank you,
Aurélie

Hey, did you end up going to this shipwreck thing? It looks awesome. I'll be in Nigeria for three weeks in October and would love to find a way to surf there. Sounds kind of complicated though, and I won't have a board...

I'm moving to Lagos at the end of February 2014 from Durban South Africa. I am a part owner in Natural Curve Surfboards and former SA Longboard Surfing Champion and would love to meet up with anyone who surfs in Lagos. Is there anyone out there?

there are a few places to surf
last time I went someone drowned trying to swim out to the surfers
surfed at the beach opposite the city called Tarwka Bay, it is dirty, polluted, unsafe unless you are in a group, full of ladies and sellers
there are other spots you can take day trips to but you will need security which sort of busts the vibe

Hi Gary , I'm a surfer living in Lekki lookin for fellow surfers to hook up with. Am going back to UK for a couple of weeks and will bring back a board or two. Call me any time

Hi Joe, are you friends with Marcus Ross?

Hi, I've just got here and have had three weekends if some great surf,worth bringing a board definitely
Gary

No , don't  know anyone much here yet Gary , but would like to know about and meet Marcus, is he local ?

Great one man , have you tried the main breaks  Tarqua , Lighthouse, Shipwreak ,Lekki ? Which days are best for you?

I am still in Australia and due back in Lagos soon
I will get a board out there
Will post here when I arrive