Are there any expats happily (or not!) living in

Greetings all in Chile.  I've been using expat-blog for a few years, trying to nail down a place to retire.  The Belize and Ecuador blogs were fabulous resources. We visited, but decided they weren't for us.  We are now trying to gather info. on Chile -- particularly Valpo and Vina del Mar, but these Chile strings do not seem to be nearly as active.  Are there any expats happily (or not!) living in these areas who can help fill us in?  Thanks much!

Hi Pica1,

A new thread has been created as from your post on the Valparaiso forum for better visibility.

All the best,
Christine

I wold also love to hear from those who have traveled to Valparaiso as well.  My niece and her husband had traveled there and they have yet to say much about their travels.  They were there for at least a month.  He speaks Spanish better than some of the people who were born in Chile.  When he was in Chile he had experienced discrimination in many places.  Whenever he went to a restaurant he was always the last to be waited on and the last to get his food even when others cam in after him and ordered as much as 30 minutes after him.  Nobody was blatantly nasty but it was the constant subtle reminders that let him know he was not welcome.  That is troubling and yet I hear from others who say how good it is and how friendly and welcoming the people are.  I would love to hear from those who are there now or were there.  It seems that possibly the lack of comment may be due to the close monitoring of this site and negative posts never see the light of day.  I hope to travel to Chile and Valparaiso is on the top of my list.

Hi, guys!
I'm glad to read you would like to visit Chile, specially my hometown! I have to say, Chile is the most beautiful country in the world :)

I was born and raised in Viña del Mar/Valparaiso (it's pretty much one big city as they are joint due to growth, but are very different between them).