Comprehensive Insurance Query in KSA

Dear All,

I've moved to KSA/Jubail about 6 weeks ago. Today I'm buying my first second hand car. Ofcourse it will be coming with the standard 3rd party insurance. But I want to get a comprehensive insurance to cover for everything, god forbid if it will be necessary.

I've spoken to a Saudi in my company, and he told me about an interesting fact. That, even with comprehensive insurance the max. they will pay is 10.000 SAR.

Could any of you whom have information or actual experience with a comprehensive insurance give me some details about coverage and which company to select or which to stay away from definitely?

(By the way no worries, I've already had a company car for 2 weeks and been driving around without any issues, since I'm a driver from the crazy traffic city Istanbul...)

Thank you all.

Merhaba,

With comprehensive insurance, you will be covered for more than SR10k. most companies will estimate the value of the car and this estimation will be used as the base to calculate  both the insurance fees and the compensation value.

For example if the value of your second hand car was 25k then the maximum they will pay you in the case of a total car lost condition will be; 25k - (25k X the yearly depreciation factor X number of years since the car was evaluated on 25K ) the depreciation factor is usually set at 8-12 % a year for the car and 20-25 for the spare parts .

The best and the biggest car insurance company in Saudi is Tawuniya

The number bro @ahmadaq has told is called the claim value. You get this money if (God forbid) the car gets totally damaged.

I've always set the car claim value on my own and no one has ever objected. So, you don't have to agree to 10K if the car market value is more than that.

Depreciation is not the part of calculation in fact. It's as simple as this:

Say your claim value: 25,000 SAR
Premium %age (offered by the insurance company: 4% (an example).