Jobs/Work in Puerto Rico

My partner and I were thinking about moving to Puerto Rico. We are both American.  So I understand we would not be true expats.  But having been to Puerto Rico several times it is easy to see that it is truly like being in a different country in many ways. We have fallen in love with the Fajardo/Luquillo area.

We are both college graduates. I am an accountant and my partner currently works for the UN with an International studies degree. And we are wondering how easy or difficult is it to find employment in Puerto Rico? We are saving vigorously to one day soon make this move.  But we are concerned that we would find our selves unemployed or underemployed.  Does any one out there know of any ways to work from home?

One of the main draws to Puerto Rico for us is the desire to change our life style.  We really do want to work. But at the end of the day we don't want to be in the same situation we are in here in Houston Texas. We are currently stuck in a 9 to 5 rut. We don't want to move to Puerto Rico only to get trapped in the same situation we are currently in. Is there any way around this? Are there any suggestions?

WoodFA wrote:

We have fallen in love with the Fajardo/Luquillo area.

A beautiful area indeed -  Luquillo beach is one of my favorite beaches - I gladly take the 45 minutes drive to get there. :)

WoodFA wrote:

We are both college graduates. I am an accountant and my partner currently works for the UN with an International studies degree. And we are wondering how easy or difficult is it to find employment in Puerto Rico? We are saving vigorously to one day soon make this move.  But we are concerned that we would find our selves unemployed or underemployed.  Does any one out there know of any ways to work from home?

When moving to another country (without being 'sent' by a company) it's always more difficult to find employment and one should be prepared to be either underemployed or without a job for some time.