Hello on my way to Malta

Hello,

My name is Wendy and I am a single parent looking to move to Malta once I have nailed down a job.  I am an IT developer and just started sending out CV as of yesterday.

I presently live in the UK and hold dual passports for UK and USA.  I was born in the UK and then moved to the USA for 20 years.  I have been back in UK for only 4 years and miss the weather hence why I am moving to a hotter climate.

Little nervous as this is the first time I have moved with my 3 year old daughter and trying to work out how to rent a place before I even get there so we have some where to go when we arrive.

Could some one recommend a good real estate company as I need to rent a house as I will also be bringing my toy poodles with me?

Question:  When I arrive I will have dog carriers, suite cases and buggy, is there large taxis at the airport or would I need to order one in advance?

My daughter is 3 will I need her car seat for the taxi?

Lots to think about and so many questions.

Have a great day! :top: produces

Hello Wendy,

Welcome to Expat.com!

your topic has been moved on the Malta forum.

Thank you,
Christine

What I did was come over for  a few days about a month before moving, to find a place to live. I'd definitley recommend it especially with a child and dogs to manage.

I found the letting agents varied around dogs, some don't want to know, others are more helpful. I also found that there was more chance of dog friendly places in central or north areas, which may not be ideal for you if you end up working in the more built up areas.

Also you may not get a house, you may, but don't necessarily expect a garden. Most outside space here is on the roof of houses. And houses seem to be on several floors, so you'd have lots of steps. I ended up with an apartment with a huge terrace, which is my garden substitute ;-) my two dogs are fine with it so far.(They get 2 walks a day though)