Hi everyone! Newbie here, just a bit of info.

Hey all!  Just found this site and think it's a fantastic idea!  My husband and I are planning early retirement in Central America and have been drifting toward Costa Rica for a while now.  You know that when you first begin searching for relocation info, you will find tons of "touristy" material, which make it sound like the best place on earth, with no problems. We realize, however, that simply isn't true.  Every place on the globe has "good" and "bad" and we don't want to base our decision based on what some realtor or travel site tells us, we want the REAL scoop. I'm hoping this is the best place for that.

Since we own a timeshare here in the states, we found that we are able to trade our week in New Orleans for a week in Costa Rica, so we're planning on making our first trip down at the end of this year (2013) to sort of take a look around and see what we can learn and see. We're looking for a life that's simple, peaceful and pure.  We are excited about immersing ourselves in a new culture, learning Spanish and soaking up all we can to fit into a new country.

I hope to meet a lot of you here online and perhaps again someday in person in beautiful CR.

Welcome:  just read through some of the topics and you will find out quite a bit.  I have been to CR two times now and am moving there in May.  There are others who can help you much more than me but keep me on your radar and look me up when you get in to CR

Welcome to the site and enjoy.  We are making the retirement move in 2014 and are working on building our house.  Enjoy your trip!