Driving licence

Hello,

I'm a french journalist and just got a one year visa issued. I will live and work in Las vegas but will be geographically flexible. I will definitely need a car, but as i used to live in Paris and Asia, i just have never been in need of a car yet !
I hope i can get a driving license in the USA but a friend of mine was very positive about I can not get it without an american social security card.

What do you guys know about that ? Which orhanism or company can I contact to get some informations ?

thanks for your time !
Sandee

Hi Sandee,

As far as I know you CAN get a drivers license with a working visa. The first thing I would do is ask your employers, they may know these rules and regulations if they have employed foreigners in the past. Check this website - http://www.dmvnv.com/ its the department of moter vehicles in Nevada (the website is a little confusing, but dont worry all the DMV websites are like this!!) each state in America has different rules for how you can obtain a drivers license.
If you have trouble finding information on the website the best thing to do may be just to call them and ask your question. Good Luck!
I hope all works out well for you in the states and with your driving :]

Sofia
http://dancingtracks.blogspot.com/

hey Sophia, thanks so much for the link :) This will definitely help !
I am a freelance journalist so I don't have a classic working permit. I will give them a call and will keep you posted ! Thanks again !

Hello Sandee