Information needed about living in Pemba

Hi there,

I have been asked if I would accept a position with an oil and gas company in Pemba. I have been unable to locate any information about Pemba on the internet.

I would appreciate any information from anyone on the following:

Accommodations - availability of power and water supply

Food - availability; will you need to bring in items from outside the company as they are not available?

Activities after working hours, weekends?

For those with a spouse who is with you, what does she do to occupy herself?

Any fitness locations? My wife is a qualified Zumba and group fitness instructor.

Are the resorts as good as they look on the internet?

Am very interested to hear how life really is in Pemba?

Thank you

Welcome to Expat.com ronmackenzie123!

Hope that other members will soon share their experience with you.;)

Harmonie

Hi Ron

I am a writer from London who was contracted to lecture at the uni in Pemba.  I was there for two years returning to london a year ago.

Nothing ventured, nothing gained.  Do accept the offer and I will give u the survival tips.

Accommodations - availability of power and water supply:   

Yes but frequent cuts on both so you need powerful spot lights or candles.  Get storage plastics for water.  Where will you be staying?  Beach Hotel has a generator and it houses most of the oilgas expats but you may want a house.  Give me details.

Food - availability; will you need to bring in items from outside the company as they are not available?