Your Experiences Learning the Thai Language

Given that I live in a country with a different languge to my own native English I feel obliged to learn the language.

For me it has not been easy and I am far from fluent. However I have found that since I have started to learn to read Thai that this helps with getting the tone and pronunciation correct(well better anyway).

What are your experiences with learning Thai, do you think reading helps?

(Please don't contribute to this thread if you are advertising a language school-there's another a place or that.

PS I am self taught, I use my iPhone(apps) and total immersion in my target language.

Hey.

I on my second year of ED-Visa, For me i want to learn the Thai language as i plan to live for the rest of my live, hope +35 years total, So for me it is "Stupid" not to learn, or try learn some...

My reading skill is okay now for a beginner, but even so i can read, i donŽt know what the words mean, my Vocabulary is still to small at this time...And i can write okay all so..

I really want to learn more talking skill, to be able to conversion better with Thai people..

So iŽm change school later this year, to see if other school can help more on the speaking Thai...

I like that i can read the sign now, as i like to use bus, piggy cars and so on to explore on my own...

I find that Thai people er so happy if you try talk to them in Thai, even so you speak wrong, the kindly try to understand you, and try to correct you (Me) to say it right....

I find it open many "Doors" to try talking Thai, again this is for me...
I being lucky other place i live, some have kids that like to try speak English with me, and they try help me out on Thai...
I help them on some school English homework, and they help me on my homework, i was very fun and good for us all i think, but i have to move, That live...

And because the Thai in that area i live before see i try to learn Thai, learn about Thai, they invite me in there home and life...