Moving to Middle East and Jordan

Hi everybody,

I would like to move to Middle East and looking for the best place.
My purpose is studying levantine arabic in Lebanon and modern standard arabic in Jordan or in Yemen but this last country is so unsafe with kiddnaping that probably Jordan would be the best option. Then I would like to work in Jordan and think to live there. I have been working as as travel agent in my country for more than 20 years. Could you tell me if if is not too hard to find a job in Jordan. I am also looking for a place in Middle East where it is easy to have new friends and where people are opened mind. I am a woman. Is Jordan as much as expensive than Lebanon ?

Well I also would be interested to live in Lebanon but I heard that it is not easy to find a job. So I am wondering about the best place.
Is lebanese dialect understood in Jordan ?
What is the average to live in Amman per month in $ ? I do not look for a high stantard but to live normally, and go out for dinner time to time.

So all your comments will be appreciated.:)

Lebanon is much better than Jordan... but why would you leave Switzerland to live in Middle East?????

I heard lots of times that Jordan is the most safe and political stable land to live in. Also for single women.
Jordan is also an expensive country to live in but if you have an average lifstyle you can survive here ;)
The average income for a family is between 300-500 JD per month but there also families who have less.

For jobseeking it depends what you want to do for work but you need two things to succeed: the arabic lanuage and network.

You ask about the Middle East and people with opened mind, some how it seems to me that these two things don't match.

I do know nothing about Libanon but maybe you can ask your questions on the Libanon forum as well, if you didn't already done it.

MSA arabic you can learn everywhere.
Me, myself and I learn arabic at the University of Jordan.