$25000 investment question

Hi Folks,  is it true that the $25,000 investment to obtain the resident visa cannot be used by me AT ANY TIME???  I was under the impression that I can withdraw when I turn 62.  Please let me know the facts about all this. Thanks.

Eddie, I am no expert but my impression is if you use the $25K option to secure your visa then the money must remain untouched. If, at 62 (I am guessing you will start receiving Social Security over the current $800 per month requirement) you can then get a new visa based on that and then you would have access to your $25K to do with as you wish.

I agree with Largisimo as to the funds. Again, my understanding is that the Investment monies must remain in place, and are not to be accessed by the Investor.  I also believe there is a 5 % penalty at withdrawal that you pay the govenment.That was why I went with the Retirement Visa, so as not to have my Visa tied to the property I bought, in the case I wanted to sell. I realize you're refering to just the bank deposit. Personally, I don't think that gives you much flexability, pretty much tying up that 25K.
Good Luck,
Neil

I think the 5% applies if you are taking the money back out of Ecuador and wouldn't apply if it stayed in country. I had a friend that used the $25K CD option and he had the interest deposited into his checking account giving him some access to the money. He was getting over 6% and appreciated the extra cash.

I agree with your understanding. Guess I didn't make my statement too clear. It woud only be taxed if taken OUT of Ecuador. But, I am surprized at the being able to use it in a checking account, thereby going below the 25K requirement? I have heard some of the Credit Unions pay as much as 10% on C.D's, which is a pretty healthy return. I will look into that as soon as I get there in June.
By the way.... nice BBQ. I think I will not be partaking of the Coy. Do you like it? I know.... tastes like chicken.
Stay Well,
Neil