Receiving Mail in Quito

I am new to Ecuador (only 2 months!) and have a friend in the States who wants to send me a package here. The problem is that where I am living I do not have a reliable address to receive mail. A local friend suggested that she could send the box to Mariscal Sucre, but I am slightly hesitant since that airport is no longer in use, and I'm just not used to having a package sent to a random address (or lack of address, since my friend said just to put "Mariscal Sucre Airport, Quito, Ecuador" on the shipping label!!!) without someone there to pick it up asap.

So I'm wondering if anyone has had much experience receiving mail from out of the country? Where did you send it? Is the old airport the best way to go? ANY thoughts or advice will be much appreciated. Thank you!!

Hi and welcome to Expat.com arnoldbria!

I hope the other members of the forum will be able to help you out.

Regards
Armand

Well,
I'm not seeing many replys, so I'll give it a go. Is there a local shop owner that you do business with that you trust? I would think they would have a solid address. Maybe you could ask to use their address? Even offer them a buck or two if need be.
Don't know if this would work in your case, just a suggestion.
Good Luck,
Neil

I asked a few similar Mail questions in another thread that 'might' have useful info for you. :)

Click here --> http://www.expat-blog.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=232323

I rented a p.o. box at the local post office in Cuenca and have mail sent there.

On average, how long would you say it takes to get a letter from the US? I'd never considered it, but it might come in handy. Would you mind my asking the fee?
Thanks,
Neil

I have mostly used fedex or club correos while living here. All my U.S. mail gets routed to my mail service in Houston and then I either read it on-line or have it fowarded in a large envelope using fedex or a cheaper and slower alternative.

The slower alternative was about 3-4 weeks I recall.