Pregnant in Phnom Penh

Hello! I'm hoping to move to Phnom Penh to be closer to the father of my child, before I give birth in May. I will need to find somewhere to live, hopefully in a family home, or with a female, who wouldn't mind a newborn baby! I also need to find some kind of work, so was thinking about private tuition, teaching or freelance writing. I'm a Social Anthropology graduate from Cambridge, and my boyfriend is a Khmer guy living in Kampot. I'm looking for a way to bring my baby up, independently, close to his daddy, in a cosmopolitan, multi-cultural environment, whilst pursuing my own interests and career dreams! If you have any advice, let me know. I can't afford to stay in the UK, as I'd be stuck on housing benefit, unable to get a visa for Serey, with little support, and things to do, but I can't just go back to Kampot, as I'd probably not be able to earn enough to look after my baby as I see fit, and would like some independence, not to rely on the salary and family of a tuk-tuk driver! Thank you so much. Emma Louise Loffler
P.S. I'm academic, easy-going, with lots of experience in childcare and education

Emma, this may or may not help or be relevant,but when you get to PP, go to "The Willow PP" hotel(st.21 opposite Sovanna B.B.Q restaurant) and talk to my sister Eliza. She owns the hotel and also teaches at A.C.E. She has a Khmer husband and a beautiful little baby girl.She has been in Cambodia for 6 years and I'm sure would be able to give you some good advice and friendship.Tell her Dave sent you. Best of luck and congratulations on the pregnancy, I hope it all goes well for you.
Dave.
P.S, it may be worthwhile e-mailing her on the hotels website before you come over.

Hello.
I am a boy... but i have 3 kids of 12, 6 and 4 years old at home.
We have a room you could use the time you could find something else.
We are living in a residential compound at 25 minutes from the center of PP.