Hello from an expat in Yangon

Hi -
I just wanted to introduce myself on this forum. My name is Becky. I'm American and am living with my family in Yangon.  We came here for my husband's job.  I work as a freelance writer. We've been here for about a year and enjoy Myanmar.

I'm more than happy to try answering questions people have. I've poked through the forum + just contributed a few answers that are hopefully helpful.

Though this site, you can see my blog as well which has loads of resources about Myanmar, being an expat (including resources for expat kids). I'm not a Myanmar expert: I'm not a local Myanmar, so there's no way I could ever be an expert. But am happy to help the best I can.

Cheers,
Becky

Hello Becky,

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

Thank you for this introduction.

Hello Becky. Compared to you, I have only got 1 month experience in Myanmar and so, would be grateful to you if you answer my questions.

Is there any day care centre in Yangon for my children? Haven't found one yet.
An apartment to rent near the Yangon International School?
Any fascinating place to visit for this Thingyan Festival?

Thank you.
Benjamin V.

Hi Benjamin - I commented on another thread in the forum about daycare. There aren't any daycares that I'm aware of. For early education, lots of people send their children to Network School (British Curriculum). They're quite good. The hours are short though; most families hire nannies as an alternative to daycare.

YIS + apartments: I never go to that area of town, honestly, but I do think it's pretty funky/cool. Has a nice vibe. I am sure there are some apartments. There's a CityMart right next to the school. Most people find they need to utilize housing agents. If you need a list of names, you can private message me or contact me through my blog: http://wwww.beckyinburma.blogspot.com