Looking for tips from the experts ...

Hi My name is Dave ... I am a sports writer who has been living in Australia and now back on London but planning to come to the DR to learn Spanish in March or April. Just wondering the best way to do this, perhaps find a local student who wants ot earn some money on the side? I plan to do some work online while I am based in Santo Domingo and also wanted to check with you guys whether 3G/wifi are establised in SD. Also heard a bit about power blackouts!
Excited about the prospect of coming out, initially for four-six months, and looking forward to hopefully making contact with some of you and learning about your lives there. Any advice would be more than welcome.
ps I also play a lot of soccer and was wondering whether that is popular in DR.
Thanks Dave

Greetings Dave and welcome to the forum. I live in N.Y. but have taken numerous trips to D.R. Mainly the North Coast. As far of teachers, you will find plenty; you might even find a few on here. The sport of choice in D.R. Is baseball, that is what they are known for. There is a large European community in D.R. So there is a possibility you might find a group of individuals that share your entusiasm for soccer.  It seems that you have the work thing worked out so you will not have to depend on local work which does not pay very well. I'm pretty sure you will love it there, just be sure to follow the sound advice you will receive from the expats on this forum and you will be fine. Good luck on your future adventures.

Hi Massagewiz, really appreciate your tips and for going to the trouble to reply - especially when you don't currently reside in DR. Will take on board what you have said and thanks again for the ecouraging words. Maybe catch up on one of your frequent trips. Cheers Dave

No problem amigo(friend)  your first Spanish lesson. :-)

You will find lots of "schools" to learn your Spanish at with out any difficulty.