British Mechanical Engineer seeks work/advice.

Hi

Me and my wife are looking to move to Bulgaria, due to an ever-growing dissatisfaction with U.K lifestyle. I am a Mechanical Engineer with over 8 years in the oil and gas sector. I have currently been looking for employment in Sofia via the internet for the past 2-3 months and am now toying with the idea of going to Bulgaria for  2- 3 weeks and to try visit companies face to face and check newspapers etc.

Does anyone have any experience of doing this?  It does not seem that the internet is the best way to get direct contact with the companies.

I do not mind changing sector, any engineering role would suit me, I have design, construction and project engineering experience so I am quiet flexible. We are not over concerned on location as long as it is in Bulgaria.

Thank you  for taking the time to read

Yes, I did just that Adam.
Surveyed the market, tracked job opportunities, made a few contacts with agents and possible employers alike and then came for a few interviews within a couple of days.
OK, I may have had the added benefit of being multi-lingual but nothing more.
I am also an engineer too albeit in a different field from you and now work for a major US company, am based in Sofia and have been doing so for the last 3 years. So, it most certainly is very do-able.
Finding a new job opportunity is certainly not impossible you just neeed a positive attitude and get on with it.

Best of luck to you